The Mortal Instrements

Friday, December 9, 2011

Friday Harbor by Lisa Kleypas

Book I: Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (October 26, 2010)

Book Description

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas’s new series begins during the most magical time of year 

One rain-slicked night, six-year-old Holly lost the only parent she knew, her beloved mother Victoria. And since that night, she has never again spoken a word.

The last thing Mark Nolan needs is a six-year-old girl in his life. But he soon realizes that he will do everything he can to make her life whole again. His sister’s will gives him the instructions: There’s no other choice but you. Just start by loving her. The rest will follow.

Maggie Collins doesn’t dare believe in love again, after losing her husband of one year. But she does believe in the magic of imagination. As the owner of a toy shop, she lives what she loves. And when she meets Holly Nolan, she sees a little girl in desperate need of a little magic.

Three lonely people. Three lives at the crossroads. Three people who are about to discover that Christmas is the time of year when anything is possible, and when wishes have a way of finding the path home…

Book Description (My Copy)

When Mark Nolan is given custody of Holly, his young orphaned niece, he moves back to Rainshadow vineyard, the Nolan family business, to provide a secure life for her. But he stumbles upon a letter Holly has written to Santa asking for a new mum, and decides to kiss goodbye to his bachelor lifestyle and marry a woman who will be the 'right kind' of mother for her.

Then one afternoon Mark and Holly wander into an intriguing shop called the Magic Mirror and meet the free-spirited and unconventional owner, Maggie Flynn. There is an instant attraction between Mark and Maggie, but having suffered a tragic heartbreak of her own, Maggie has vowed never to risk loving again. She offers to help Mark fulfill Holly's Christmas wish and introduce him to a warm, attractive woman -just what Mark had been looking for, before he fell under Maggie's spell...

I need to say something, what's written on the back cover of my copy is messed-up! The real story is different and Maggie didn't introduce Mark to anyone, he already had a girlfriend who he broke up with later on. The letter isn't the reason for the change but Holly is. The vineyard isn't the family business, Mark has a coffee shop, the vineyard belongs to his brother Sam. Maggie is actually normal, there is nothing crazy in her. She's just a young widow.

My Shelfari Review:
I bought this book yesterday, I postponed buying it for so long. I love Lisa's historical romances novels, but I struggled with Sugar Daddy [still am]. This is not the case here. I opened the book less than an hour ago and now I'm in chapter 3, I guess I will finish the book today. It's adorable and short. I love Lisa's style in writing.

I loved Maggie and Mark's story... I can't wait to see Sam and Alex's stories as well!

Book II: Rainshadow Road (February 28, 2012) 

Book Description

Lucy Marinn is a glass artist living in mystical, beautiful, Friday Harbor, Washington. She is stunned and blindsided by the most bitter kind of betrayal:  her fiancé Kevin has left her. His new lover is Lucy’s own sister.

Lucy's bitterness over being dumped is multiplied by the fact that she has constantly made the wrong choices in her romantic life.

Facing the severe disapproval of Lucy's parents, Kevin asks his friend Sam Nolan, a local vineyard owner on San Juan Island, to "romance" Lucy and hopefully loosen her up and get her over her anger. Complications ensue when Sam and Lucy begin to fall in love, Kevin has second thoughts, and Lucy discovers that the new relationship in her life began under false pretenses.

Questions about love, loyalty, old patterns, mistakes, and new beginnings are explored as Lucy learns that some things in life—even after being broken—can be made into something new and beautiful.

Book III: Griffin Bay (May 1, 2012)
Expected publication: May 2012 by Piatkus Books  

Book IV: Dream Lake (August 7, 2012)

Expected publication: September 2012 by Piatkus Books
(first published August 7th 2012) 

Book Description

Dream Lake takes readers once again to the exquisite setting of Friday Harbor, and tells the story of Zoe Hoffman, an innkeeper who has all but given up on love. She’s a gentle, romantic soul, but has been so hurt in the past that she dare not trust her heart with anyone.

Especially not Alex Nolan. Alex is the most haunted of all the Nolan brothers. He drinks to keep his demons at bay and not only has he given up on love, he has never, ever believed in it.

Zoe and Alex are oil and water, fire and ice, sunshine and shadow. But sometimes, it takes only a glimmer of light to chase away the dark. Dream Lake is classic Lisa Kleypas: romantic, powerful, emotional, and magical.  

No comments:

Post a Comment