The Mortal Instrements

Monday, September 5, 2011

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Book DescriptionMarch 22, 2011 

Lennie plays second clarinet in the school orchestra and has always happily been second fiddle to her charismatic older sister, Bailey. Then Bailey dies suddenly, and Lennie is left at sea without her anchor. Overcome by emotion, Lennie soon finds herself torn between two boys: Bailey's boyfriend, Toby, and Joe, the charming and musically gifted new boy in town. While Toby can't see her without seeing Bailey and Joe sees her only for herself, each offers Lennie something she desperately needs. But ultimately, it's up to Lennie to find her own way toward what she really needs-without Bailey. 
A remarkable debut novel perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block.
 

From my copy: 

"I'm supposes to be grieving, not falling in love..."

What's wrong with me?

What kind of a girl wants to kiss every boy at a funeral, wants to maul a guy in a tree after making out with her (dead) sister's boyfriend the previous night? Speaking of which, what kind of girl makes out with her sister's boyfriend, at all?

Lennie Walker - sisterless, lasagna maker, Heathcliff-obsessed and hopelessly in love...

Plot: 

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey.

But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life--and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two.
Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. 
Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent (and his eyes: Bat, Bat, Bat).

For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Review:

First of all, my copy is so beautiful, it was the reason I bought the book, and the graphic designer is so smart.
Second of all, I started reading the book and I am surprised at how much I liked it.
I so wanted to push Toby of a cliff!!! I really liked Joe, He is so Heathcliff-ish!!!!
I kept asking myself: "Is Lennie blind (Lennie Walker (aka John Lennon) - Sisterless, lasagna maker, Heathcliff-obsessed and hoplelessly in love though she's grieving!)!?
Who would want a Toby when there is a Joe?!? But the ending was so beautiful and satisfying.
This book is beautiful beautiful beautiful!!! It takes grief into a new level!! Poetic! (Qoute: Each time someone dies, a library burns.)

I know it is silly but while I read any book I like to imagine who would play the characters in a movie.
The Fontaine brothers reminded me of Jonas brothers so Joe Fontaine was Joe Jonas in my mind... and Marcus Fontaine was Nick Jonas and DougFred Fontaine was Kevin Jonas.
But the only young actresses with curly hair I know are Emmy Rossum and Anna-Lynne McCord, maybe Emmy would play Lennie (she seems sensitive and all) and Anna would play Bailey (because she is fun and very pretty) (I know she must have black hair!! But really!!! That's all I came with). Keri Russell Could be the run-away mom (half-mom), she has curly hair and a beautiful face...


Publisher: Walker (2 Jun 2011)
Publisher: Walker (7 Jun 2010)

Publisher: Dial; 1 edition (March 9, 2010)
Publisher: Speak (March 22, 2011)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


























 PART ONE:
(Found written on a candy wrapper on the trail to the Rain River)
(Found on a piece of music paper, spiked on a low branch, Flying Man's Gulch)
(Found on a piece of notebook paper blowing down Main Street)
(Found on a takeaway cup along the banks of the Rain River)
(Found on the back of a French exam in a flower bed, Clover Hight)
(Found on a piece of notebook paper caught in the fence up on the ridge)
(Found on a folded up piece of paper half buried in pine needles on the trail to the Rain River)
(Found on the inside cover of Wuthering Heights, Clover High library)
(Found written on the wall of the bathroom at Cecilia's Bakery)
(Found under a stone in Gram's garden)
(Found on a branch of a tree outside Clover High)
(Found on a piece of music paper crumpled up the trailhead)
(Found written on the wall of Bailey's closet)
(Found on a piece of paper in Lennie's clarinet case)
(Found on a piece of notebook paper balled up in a shoe in Lennie's closet)
(Found scrawled on the bench outside of Maria's Italian Deli)
(Found on a napkin stuffed in a mug, Cecilia's Bakery)
(Found on the bathroom wall, music room, Clover High)
(Found on an envelope stuck under the tire of a car on Main Street)
(Found written on the inside cover of Wuthering Heights, Lennie's room)
(Found on a piece of newspaper under the Walkers' porch)
(Found on a candy wrapper half-buried by the roses, Gram's Garden)
(Found on a takeaway cup , Rain River)
(Found scrawled on the branch of a tree outside Clover High)
(Found written on a desk, Clover Public Library)

PART TWO:
(Found on a piece of paper stuck between two rocks at Flying Man's)
(Found on a page ripped out of Wuthering Heights, spiked on a branch, in the woods)
(Found on a folded up flyer on the sidewalk, Main Street)
(Found scribbled on the classified ads in the Clover Gazette under the bench outside Maria's Deli)
(Found on a takeaway cup by a grove of old growth redwoods)
(Found on a piece of paper under the big willow)
(Found on a lollipop wrapper on the trail to the Rain River)
(Found on the back of an envelope on the trail to the forest bedroom)
(Found on a piece of paper in the stacks, B section, Clover Public Library)
(Found on a folded up piece of music paper, in the parking lot, Clover High)
(Written in Lennie's journal)
(Found on the bed, in the forest bedroom)
(Found again in the bedroom, in the trash can, ripped to pieces by Lennie)
(Found again on Joe's desk, taped together, with the words dildonic written over it)
(Found framed under glass in Joe's dresser drawer where it still is)

No comments:

Post a Comment